Skip to content

Drone Piece for Multiple Joyce Orchestra

for flute, clarinet, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, 1 trumpet,1 tuba, piano, clavinet, violin, viola,
violoncello & double bass
Duration: 17′

The chords of the piece consist of the interval combinations used in Player Piano Suite No. 1. Divided among the instruments of the mixed ensemble, they form the background for fluctuating-periodic rhythmic melodies of piano and clavinet.

The piece was premiered at the MJO concert at the Loft, Cologne on 08 April 2018, and then performed again at the MJO concert at Schloss Moersbroich on 28 June 2018.

Score Example: Drone Piece for the Multiple Joyce Orchestra

Score excerpt

Back To Top